Bali now re-open for tourists

Ngurah Rai International Airport

Jakarta (CNN) — Indonesia's Bali and Riau Islands are reopening to visitors from 19 countries starting Thursday, according to the country's Minister of Maritime Affairs and Investment, Luhut Binsar Panjaitan.

"We have given permission to 19 countries to be able to travel to Bali and the Riau Islands," Luhut announced in a meeting in Jakarta on Wednesday.

The countries are: China, India, Japan, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, New Zealand, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, Liechtenstein, Italy, France, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Poland, Hungary, and Norway.

The countries were chosen based on data showing low positivity rates, Luhut said.

Travelers from the countries can enter Bali and Riau Islands as long as they follow the requirements before and upon arrival, Luhut said.

Luhut added that the reopening will be evaluated periodically and that "this list of 19 countries only applies specifically to direct flights to Bali and the Riau Islands."

He hoped that the implementation will boost Bali's tourism-dependent economy. An estimated 54% of the island's income is earned from the tourism industry.

Bali's Ngurah Rai Airport (DPS) in Denpasar is ready to welcome international arrivals on Thursday, Taufan Yudhistira, Stakeholder Relations Manager at Ngurah Rai's International Airport Authority, told CNN.


TAGS : Bali Cargo International Shipping Balireopen

  • Read: 310 Visitor